Do Not Touch

Ever-changing interactive music video

Do Not Touch is an interactive, crowd sourced music video for the track Kilo by the band Light Light.

With Do Not Touch we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the computer pointer. For decades this ubiquitous, yet inconspicuous arrow has formed the essential interface connecting user and computer. With the rise of multi-touch interfaces, we are slowly seeing these disconnected phantom limbs disappear. Reason enough to gather our pointers together and have some fun.

The interactive video kicks off with a simple message ➝ ‘Please note ➝ We are recording your pointer’. Viewers answer questions like ‘Where are you from?’ and complete easy tasks like ‘Catch the green dot’ while navigating their enlarged cursors over an old computer screen with large pixels.

In the background, they are accompanied by a sea of arrows belonging to those who participated before them. Some obviously go with the flow, while others diverge from the beaten track. Suddenly the camera zooms out, moving away from the computer screen and recording a space where the band Light Light is playing. Based on items in the space and the activities of the band, amusing tasks and questions keep coming like ‘Form a mask’ or ‘Play the bass’, but ‘Do not touch the model’...

Behind the scenes

Selected Coverage

  • Rundown of the technology behind Do Not Touch
  • Amazing crowdsourced music video uses thousands of mouse cursors as cast members
  • Interview about Do Not Touch
  • Over 1500 comments on Reddit

  • Participants
    Over 4 million
  • Render frequency
    the video is re-rendered every hour
  • Amount of music video renders
    Over 17.5 thousand
  • Insight
    Smileys have noses
    (the internet says so)
  • Dutch Design Awards 2013
    Award for Best Motion Design
  • UK Music Video Awards 2013
  • The Lovie Awards 2013


  • Director
  • Technology
  • Line Producer
    Vargo Bawits,
    Flickering Wall
  • DOP
    Sal Kronenburg
  • Focus Puller
    Marinka Schippers
  • Styling
    Ogenda ter Haar
  • Make Up
    Paulien Hartman
  • Still Photography
    Adina Renner
  • Editing
  • Grading
    Sal Kroonenberg
    & Moniker
  • Funding
  • Typeface